Feminist Friday: How To Be A Better Trans Ally

This has been an interesting week for me. My Facebook feed has been inundated with posts about Caitlyn Jenner and her transformation. I have friends who think she’s a hero and I have “friends” who think she’s a “representation of everything that is wrong with this country”. I am a cis-gender individual. I have no idea what it’s like to feel uncomfortable in my own skin because the gender I was assigned at birth doesn’t match the way I feel inside. I don’t know what it’s like to have to hide my true identity for fear of being attacked and possibly killed.

What I do know, is that everyone deserves respect and love. Everyone deserves to feel like their life has meaning and that they are important. Everyone deserves to live an authentic life.

I strongly encourage you all to read this excellent article by my most favorite Feminist website, Everyday Feminism, “10 Things Trans Activists and Allies Need to Remember That Have Nothing to Do With Caitlyn Jenner”. Learn how to be a better ally, teach others how to do the same. At the end of the day, go intersectional or go home.

Leave a Reply

