Feminist Friday: What More Can I Say?

This week, my heart is heavy. As I read the news from Baltimore I can’t help but be disappointed and saddened by how we, as Americans are treating each other. I could try to make a great argument for why this is still happening in 2015, I could try to explain my views and thoughts, but at the end of the day, this isn’t about me. I benefit from a myriad of privileges (white privilege, straight passing privilege, middle class privilege), I don’t know what it feels like to be discriminated against because of the color of my skin. I don’t know what it’s like to grow up in a city where things are falling to pieces for years and no one with the power to change it seems to care. This week, I’d encourage you to read the articles and blog posts I’ve found written by people who have a very different perspective than I do. I want to leave you with the words of a very dear friend, Jessica Sorenson.

If you’re ‪#‎prayingforbaltimore‬, please be praying for this:

pray for those affected by poverty, pray for jobs (and fair job opportunities) for the unemployed and underemployed, pray for a better education system and better resources for public schools, pray for more shelters for the homeless, pray for better and safer childcare options for single working parents, pray for those affected by HIV and pray for an end to the spread of HIV, pray for more community resources for low income families, pray for an end to racial profiling and the presence of racism and racial divide, pray for the good cops whose reputations have been destroyed by the bad cops, pray for the protesters that their voices will be heard and pray for the rioters that they can overcome the circumstances and life experiences that have led them to turn to violence and anger, pray for the children that they can feel safe in their communities and homes, pray for the businesses that have been torched or looted that they can be restored, PRAY FOR BALTIMORE.

Here’s What You’re Missing When You Object to the Black Lives Matter Protests by Maisha Johnson

Don’t Be That Friend – 1 PoV by 1 PoC by Kalani

Dear white Facebook friends: I need you to respect what Black America is feeling right now by Julia Blount

YOU HAVE PRIVILEGE. USE IT RESPONSIBLY. By Sophie Lucido Johnson

Here’s What Martin Luther King Jr. Really Thought About Urban Riots by Allie Gross

Leave a Reply

