Top Eleven Things, February 10th Edition

Welcome to the first installment of Sleeping on the Roof’s latest ongoing series, Top Eleven Things, where I list an arbitrary list of things I’m doing or listening to or reading or watching and recommend them. Why eleven? I think you know why.

1. Sleater Kinney – No Cities To Love. 

Just when I thought asskicking rock and roll was dead, here come Sleater Kinney and suddenly I want to plug in my Gibson SG again. My only exposure to them previously was The Woods, which I totally didn’t get, but this makes me want to go back and check out their back catalogue.

2. Björk – Vulnicura

On the other end of the girl-power pop music spectrum is Björk. This album haunts me. Check out my full review here.

3. Pond – Man It Feels Like Space Again

For some reason Tame Impala is really two bands, but this one is more whimsical? Whatever, it’s cool.

4. SimCity

Uh, I wasted at least sixty hours of my life this week on this. Not an endorsement so much as a cry for help.

5. Hannibal

The third season doesn’t start until summer, but I just rewatched the first two and not enough people watch this show so I’ll continue to spread the cannibal gospel until I have someone to talk about it with. Seriously, this show is so good. It’s dark, it’s gory, it stars a neurotic Hugh Jackman (Hugh Dancy) as Will Graham, with Laurence Fishburn as Crawford and Mad Mikkelson as a very charming Dr. Lecter. Also Gillian Anderson as Hannibal’s therapist. Also Eddie Izzard, who showed up in my dream last night, but that’s irrelevant.

6. James & Mike Mondays

This is my favorite video gaming series. It’s from the guys behind Angry Video Game Nerd. They just hang out and play old video games, but it’s seriously one of the best parts of my Monday mornings.

7. Frank

Frank might actually be my favorite film of the year.

8. Galway

Seriously, I love it here. You should come visit.

9. Better Call Saul

Hey, turns out this is pretty good. It’s on Netflix.

10. This Pavement album. 

11. Beck.

Kanye West merely proved that he’s the only one who actually cares about the Grammys. He’s right about all that artistry nonsense, only he’s behind by a few decades. That’s how most musicians have felt about the Grammys for just about ever. As long as decent albums are nominated, I don’t care who wins, because they all deserve it.

But Beck did this, which is amazing:

Published by

Cody Ray Shafer

Cody is a writer and media critic living in Salt Lake City, Utah. When he's not writing he plays guitar and sings with his wife Sara Beth. They have one son, Oliver, and pug, Hugo.

Leave a Reply

